Week 5, Digital Movie Making

Looking for Alibrandi is a movie that I watched couple years ago for my English course.
The movie really inspired me a lot. It is story is about an Australian born Italian girl, Josie Alibrandi who did not
find her self related to her own culture. She is an illegitimate kid of her mom Christiana.
Christiana had been judged a lot by other family member because she didn’t marry Josie’s dad. Her grandmother Nonna Katia believed that an illegitimate kid would bring ‘curse’ to the family. Therefore, Josie felt a bit defensive of her family in the beginning of the movie. She also had a difficult relationship with her dad. At the same time, she was struggling with her school life in a wealthy Catholic girls school. I enjoyed watching how she deal with those problems became a strong and tough person. More important thing is, Josie finally accepted her ‘truth identity’. There’s a scene of Josie’s family making tomato sauce for the tomato day and then the camera was showing Josie’s facial expression, she was feeling annoyed about the event.
As a contract, at the end of the movie, Josie changed her mind, and changed the way of how she associated with her family. The movie Looking for Alibrandi showed a sense of one’s identity, the concept of family and culture conflict. I really find myself related to the movie because my mom had very similar experiences as Christiana. She received a lot of negative comments from others since I was a little kid. However, I am glad that we went through it, that’s why the movie touched my heart. I agreed the idea from the reading, saying student made digital video is to explore their feeling about what their life and society. If we can use it in class, I believed that Digital video will be a significant education tool for us.

Reference

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XTXKpzTURw

Bailey, B. (2011). “When I make a film, it’s out of my head”: Expressing emotion and healing through digital filmmaking in the classroom. Digital Culture & Education, 3(2), 76-97.  Retrieved from http://www.digitalcultureandeducation.com/uncategorized/dce1056_bailey_2011_html/

Accessed July, 2014

Leave a comment